(G)I-DLE Makes Their Fierce Return With “HWAA”

Hi Neverlands! (G)I-DLE is finally back, returning with their latest EP, “I Burn”, after “Oh My God” and “DUMDi DUMDi” last year and I am so excited. (G)I-DLE always puts out great music and based off the teasers I was so excited to see how the girls would execute the concept and make a bold and fierce statement bringing in the New Year!

Song:
“HWAA” is a song that hits hard and also gives off very serious vibes. The beat is still danceable and you can tell it’s a (G)I-DLE song. It has their signature sound and yet still stands out from their previous songs. I love the traditional vibes this song gives off and it sounds like a song you would play preparing for battle or cursing an enemy. Even without reading the lyrics of the song you can hear the anger and sadness of the girls and feel the desire for revenge. The song definitely executes the concept well and radiates the meaning of the lyrics immaculately.

Music Video:
The “HWAA” MV felt like a return to the signature powerful (G)I-DLE we are so accustomed to. “DUMDi DUMDi” showed off a brighter side to the girls and this was a return to the darker side we’ve seen before, and it was welcomed with open arms. I loved this music video because it depicts coldness and cruelness so well. From the bare trees to the frozen wasteland and snow, the MV seems so cold and perfect for the winter. I also lived for the use of lighting and elegant outfits. They highlighted the girls quite nicely. Overall, the MV fits very well and helps further drive the concept of this whole song home.

Vocals:
Okay I’m just gonna come out and say it…I was disappointed Shuhua really had no lines. After consistently getting lines the past few comebacks and carrying whole verses and bridge sections (ie. “Lion and “Oh My God”), it was kind of sad to not see her sing. But I won’t take away from how amazing she sounded at the chorus. Her “bureul jipyeora” is literally goosebumps-inducing! The other girls also sounded good as always. Soojin and Minnie especially sounded amazing! Minnie’s voice is really like no other in K-Pop and really highlights (G)I-DLE’s songs so well; it adds a signature touch to each song. I also loved the belt she did towards the end. Soojin also impressed me. i feel her vocals get stronger and stronger every song.

Of course Yuqi also sounded really good. Her deep tone always feels good to listen to. Miyeon also sounded great towards the end in her section with Minnie. Go ahead main vocalist team! Soyeon’s rap also sounded good. It wasn’t a super fast rap or go super hard, but it fits. She sounds broken and cold, which totally fits. Soyeon always knows what parts will fit the girls and how to make their songs come together. I always feel like I hear (G)I-DLE’s music and go “Of course this is a (G)I-DLE song. Only (G)I-DLE could pull a song like this off so well.

Minnie (G)I-DLE Profile and Facts (Updated!)
There is a reason Minnie is my bias! The vocals? The looks? YES!

Styling:
I really loved the styling for “HWAA”. Minnie’s red hair looks amazing on her and fits the “I Burn” theme really well. Yuqi’s short bob also really stands out as we’ve never seen her with short hair like that before. The white outfits were kind of basic, but I still think they fit the concept well. My favorite outfits were the brighter dresses the girls wore. They looked so elegant and I loved the colors. They looked great with the umbrellas and fans too. Like Yuqi’s dress? OH MY GOD YES!

Overall, I love the traditional Korean feel the styling gave off as well as the cold, icy vibe. I can’t wait to see the outfits (G)I-DLE decides to flaunt on music shows. I REALLY HOPE THEY WEAR THE DRESSES!

Update: (G)I-DLE Gives A New Glimpse Of “HWAA” MV Through Spellbinding  Teaser Video | Soompi
I LOVE THESE DRESSES!

Choreography:
I wish the MV for “HWAA” highlighted the choreography more, however, we got to see the full choreography thanks to the girls’ uploading their showcase performance! I’m not a huge fan of choreo at the chorus when the girls chant “hwaa”, but I definitely liked other sections. The hand movements at are really accentuated this time. Minnie’s choreo where she exposes her eyes! Chills! I also love the choreography at Yuqi’s part and the formations work really well. Overall, the choreography at the pre-chorus is my favorite.

The choreography works really well at the bridge and the end of the song which is a dance break. This choreography is kind of reminiscent of “Hann (Alone)” for me, but it still works. (G)I-DLE always does intricate choreography like this really well.

Overall :
Overall, I definitely like “HWAA” more than I liked (G)I-DLE’s comebacks last year. I’ll definitely be listening to this song, which topped the Melon charts has garnered over 3.5 million views in 12 hours as its trended on YouTube. I give “HWAA” a score of 8.25 out of 10 for me. It’s definitely a solid bop. What do you think of “HWAA” Neverlands? Comment below and be sure to follow us on Instagram @quintkpop!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started